Eyeball HQ

Trev's Blog


December 10, 2013

PIPELINE, Oahu/Hawaii - A lay day has been called for the Billabong Pipe Masters in Memory of Andy Irons, with declining, inconsistent surf on offer at Pipeline. The Billabong Pipe Masters marks the third and final jewel of the Vans Triple Crown of Surfing.

The Billabong Pipe Masters represents the pinnacle of the 2013 ASP season, crowning the ASP World Champion, Vans Triple Crown of Surfing Champion, and final qualifiers for next year’s WCT.

“We watched conditions for awhile this morning and have called competition off for today” Marty Thomas, Billabong Pipe Masters Contest Director said. “We’re expecting a new swell to start filling in tonight and will be back tomorrow morning to make another call for a possible start to Round 3.”

Event organizers will reconvene tomorrow morning at 6:30am local time for a possible 8am start to Round 3 of the Billabong Pipe Masters.

The Billabong Pipe Masters holds a waiting period from December 8-20 and is webcast LIVE via vanstriplecrownofsurfing.com

When Billabong Pipe Masters competition resumes Taj Burrow (AUS), 35, will face off against Yadin Nicol (AUS), 28, in Heat 1 Round 3 of competition.

Heat 1:
Taj Burrow (AUS) vs. Yadin Nicol (AUS)
Heat 2: C.J. Hobgood (USA) vs. Fredrick Patacchia (HAW)
Heat 3: Julian Wilson (AUS) vs. Patrick Gudauskas (USA)
Heat 4: Nat Young (USA) vs. Bede Durbidge (AUS)
Heat 5: John John Florence (HAW) vs. Gabriel Medina (BRA)
Heat 6: Mick Fanning (AUS) vs. Kaimana Jaquias (HAW)
Heat 7: Josh Kerr (AUS) vs. Miguel Pupo (BRA)
Heat 8: Adriano de Souza (BRA) vs. Sebastian Zietz (HAW)
Heat 9: Kelly Slater (USA) vs. Mitch Crews (AUS)
Heat 10: Kai Otton (AUS) vs. Adam Melling (AUS)
Heat 11: Michel Bourez (PYF) vs. Jeremy Flores (FRA)
Heat 12: Joel Parkinson (AUS) vs. Dusty Payne (HAW

We're reimagining the Eyeball x Surfline experience with you in mind. - TRY SURFLINE BETA