Eyeball HQ

Trev's Blog

Draws Finalized for Billabong Rio Pro

May 8, 2012

Just after this release hit the presses word dropped that Slater may have pulled out of this years event….

“Reigning ASP world champion and current ratings leader Kelly Slater has withdrawn from the Billabong Pro, Rio, Brazil, due to injury. The injury was sustained in Indonesia some weeks back, but has since flared up again and is hampering Kelly’s ability to put the board on rail. Tracksmag.com called Kelly to get the the low down.”

BARRA DA TIJUCA, Rio de Janeiro/Brazil (Monday, May 7, 2012) – The draw has been finalized for the next stop on the ASP World Championship Tour, the Billabong Rio Pro, cementing the Round 1 match-ups for the world’s best surfers to go down at Rio de Janeiro’s Barra da Tijuca this week.

Event No. 3 of 10 on the 2012 ASP World Championship Tour, the Billabong Rio Pro will recommence this year’s race for the ASP World Title, following wins by Taj Burrow (AUS), 33, on the Gold Coast and Mick Fanning (AUS), 30, at Bells Beach, with the current ratings’ lead being held by 11-time ASP World Champion Kelly Slater (USA), 40.

Dusty Payne (HAW), 23, has withdrawn from the Billabong Rio Pro, citing an ankle injury that has kept him out of the water all season. Payne will be replaced by fellow Hawaiian Frederick Patacchia (HAW), 30.

Event wildcards for the Billabong Rio Pro are Tomas Hermes (BRA) and Peterson Crisanto (BRA).

When men’s competition commences, up first will be Jordy Smith (ZAF), 24, Brett Simpson (USA), 27, and Fredrick Patacchia (HAW), 30, in Heat 1 of Round 1.

The Billabong Rio Pro will run from May 9 – 20, 2012 and will be webcast LIVE via www.billabongpro.com

Running in conjunction with the men’s event is the fifth stop on the 2012 ASP Women’s World Championship Tour, the Billabong Women’s Rio Pro. This year has bore witness to return of four-time ASP Women’s World Champion Stephanie Gilmore (AUS), 24, to the top of the ratings after posting two big wins.

Sofia Mulanovich (PER), 28, and Silvana Lima (BRA), 27, have both withdrawn from the event due to illness and injury. They have been replaced by Melanie Bartels (HAW), 30, and Sarah Mason (NZL), 17, respectively.

Event wildcard for the Billabong Women’s Rio Pro is Juliana Quint (BRA).

When women’s competition commences, up first will be Courtney Conlogue (USA), 19, Lakey Peterson (USA), 18, and Sage Erickson (USA), 21.

The Billabong Women’s Rio Pro will run from May 9 – 13, 2012 and will be webcast LIVE via www.billabongpro.com

For more information, log onto www.aspworldtour.com

Heat 1:
Jordy Smith (ZAF), Brett Simpson (USA), Fredrick Patacchia (HAW)
Heat 2: Owen Wright (AUS), Bede Durbidge (AUS), Jadson Andre (BRA)
Heat 3: Adriano de Souza (BRA), C.J. Hobgood (USA), Patrick Gudauskas (USA)
Heat 4: Taj Burrow (AUS), Raoni Monteiro (BRA), Taylor Knox (USA)
Heat 5: Joel Parkinson (AUS), Kai Otton (AUS), Tomas Hermes (BRA)
Heat 6: Kelly Slater (USA), Kieren Perrow (AUS), Peterson Crisanto (BRA)
Heat 7: Josh Kerr (AUS), Adrian Buchan (AUS), Yadin Nicol (AUS)
Heat 8: Julian Wilson (AUS), Damien Hobgood (USA), Travis Logie (ZAF)
Heat 9: Gabriel Medina (BRA), Miguel Pupo (BRA), Tiago Pires (BRA)
Heat 10: Mick Fanning (AUS), Heitor Alves (BRA), Kolohe Andino (USA)
Heat 11: Michel Bourez (PYF), Alejo Muniz (BRA), Adam Melling (AUS)
Heat 12: Jeremy Flores (FRA), John John Florence (HAW), Matt Wilkinson (AUS)

Heat 1:
Courtney Conlogue (USA), Lakey Peterson (USA), Sage Erickson (USA)
Heat 2: Tyler Wright (AUS), Paige Hareb (NZL), Justine Dupont (FRA)
Heat 3: Stephanie Gilmore (AUS), Sarah Mason (NZL), Juliana Quint (BRA)
Heat 4: Sally Fitzgibbons (AUS), Rebecca Woods (AUS), Melanie Bartels (HAW)
Heat 5: Carissa Moore (HAW), Coco Ho (HAW), Jacqueline Silva (BRA)
Heat 6: Laura Enever (AUS), Malia Manuel (HAW), Pauline Ado (FRA)

We're reimagining the Eyeball x Surfline experience with you in mind. - TRY SURFLINE BETA