Eyeball HQ

Trev's Blog

Lay Day Called for Rip Curl Pro Portugal

October 15, 2011

A lay day has been called for the Rip Curl Pro Portugal with only small one foot (0.5 metre0 waves on offer at the primary site of Supertubos.

Event No. 9 of 11 on the 2011 ASP World Title season, the Rip Curl Pro Portugal will culminate the Dream Tour’s European leg and is expecting solid swell to begin filling in over the next several days.

“Small surf today as projected so we’ve called a lay day for competition,” Rich Porta, ASP International Head Judge, said. “We are expected a significant swell and favorable winds to arrive in the next day or so and will be back tomorrow to assess the conditions.”

Event organizers will reconvene tomorrow morning at 7:30am to assess conditions for a possible 8am start.

Surfline, official forecasters for the Rip Curl Pro Portugal, are calling for a minor northwest swell mix will prevail today. A much stronger, longer period northwest swell will build in through the day on Sunday, looks strongest Monday and then will fade through the middle to second half of next week. At this point, wind conditions look generally favorable for Supertubos over the weekend and into at least the first part of next week.

Highlights from the Rip Curl Pro Portugal will be available via http://live.ripcurl.com

Dane Reynolds (USA), 26, has withdrawn from the Rip Curl Pro Portugal. His spot will be filled by first alternate Adam Melling (AUS), 26.

For additional information log on to www.aspworldtour.com

Heat 1:
Jeremy Flores (FRA), Matt Wilkinson (AUS), John John Florence (HAW)
Heat 2: Julian Wilson (AUS), Jadson Andre (BRA), Fredrick Patacchia (HAW)
Heat 3: Taj Burrow (AUS), Miguel Pupo (BRA), Adam Melling (AUS)
Heat 4: Owen Wright (AUS), Taylor Knox (USA), Daniel Ross (AUS)
Heat 5: Jordy Smith (ZAF), Patrick Gudauskas (USA), Justin Mujica (PRT)
Heat 6: Kelly Slater (USA), Chris Davidson (AUS), Bruno Santos (BRA)
Heat 7: Joel Parkinson (AUS), Raoni Monteiro (BRA), Tiago Pires (PRT)
Heat 8: Adriano de Souza (BRA), Bede Durbidge (AUS), Kieren Perrow (AUS)
Heat 9: Gabriel Medina (BRA), Heitor Alves (BRA), Brett Simpson (USA)
Heat 10: Damien Hobgood (USA), Adrian Buchan (AUS), Kai Otton (AUS)
Heat 11: Michel Bourez (PYF), Alejo Muniz (BRA), Dusty Payne (HAW)
Heat 12: Mick Fanning (AUS), Josh Kerr (AUS), Travis Logie (ZAF)

Photo: Sardine platter at the opening ceremony for the Rip Curl Pro Portugal.

We're reimagining the Eyeball x Surfline experience with you in mind. - TRY SURFLINE BETA