Eyeball HQ

Trev's Blog

Billabong Pro J-Bay is ON in Clean Conditions

July 18, 2011

The Billabong Pro Jeffreys Bay, Event No. 4 of 11 on the 2011 ASP World Title season, will recommence this morning with Round 2 starting at 9:45am in clean three-to-four foot (1 metre) waves.

“We woke up this morning to see some unexpected lines coming through with a light offshore wind, making the conditions very inviting,” Rich Porta, ASP International Head Judge, said. “We aim to run the first six heats of Round 2, with the remainder on standby. We’ll be monitoring conditions throughout the morning. Good luck to all our competitors.”

Kelly Slater (USA), 39, reigning 10-time ASP World Champion, has failed to turn up for both his Round 1 and Round 2 heats, forfeiting his spot in the Billabong Pro Jeffreys Bay (under the new ASP rule). Slater will be replaced by Travis Logie (ZAF), 32, in Heat 1 of Round 2 against wildcard Shaun Payne (ZAF), 26.

The Billabong Pro Jeffreys Bay will be webcast LIVE via http://www.billabongpro.com

For more information, log onto www.aspworldtour.com

Heat 1:
Travis Logie (ZAF) vs. Shaun Payne (ZAF)
Heat 2: Taj Burrow (AUS) vs. Sean Holmes (ZAF)
Heat 3: Bede Durbidge (AUS) vs. Travis Logie (ZAF)
Heat 4: Adriano de Souza (BRA) vs. Gabe Kling (USA)
Heat 5: Owen Wright (AUS) vs. Fredrick Patacchia (HAW)
Heat 6: Adrian Buchan (AUS) vs. Cory Lopez (USA)
Heat 7: Damien Hobgood (USA) vs. Taylor Knox (USA)
Heat 8: Michel Bourez (PYF) vs. Raoni Monteiro (BRA)
Heat 9: Brett Simpson (USA) vs. Adam Melling (AUS)
Heat 10: Patrick Gudauskas (USA) vs. Heitor Alves (BRA)
Heat 11: Kieren Perrow (AUS) vs. C.J. Hobgood (USA)
Heat 12: Matt Wilkinson (AUS) vs. Chris Davidson (AUS)

Photo: Michel Bourez (PYF), 25, will take on Raoni Monteiro (BRA), 29, in Round 2 of the Billabong Pro Jeffreys Bay. Credit: © ASP / SCHOLTZ

We're reimagining the Eyeball x Surfline experience with you in mind. - TRY SURFLINE BETA