Eyeball HQ

Trev's Blog

Lay Day for World’s Best in South Africa at Billabong Pro J-Bay

July 14, 2011

The Billlabong Pro Jeffreys Bay, Event No. 4 of 11 on the 2011 ASP World Title season, has called a lay day today with only inconsistent, two-foot (0.5 metre) waves on offer for the world’s best surfers.

“The surf has started filtering in this morning but it’s still too slow and inconsistent so we’ve called competition off for the day,” Rich Porta, ASP International Head Judge said. “We’re hoping it will fill in a bit more over the next day or two and we’ll get a start for Round 1. We’re also hoping the current high pressure system we’re experiencing we’ll break up to allow more swell activity in the coming days. We’ll be back tomorrow morning to check things out.”

Event organizers will reconvene tomorrow morning at 7am to assess conditions for a possible 7:30am start.

The Billabong Pro Jeffreys Bay will be webcast LIVE via http://www.billabongpro.com

For more information, log onto www.aspworldtour.com

Heat 1:
Bede Durbidge (AUS), Tiago Pires (PRT), Cory Lopez (USA)
Heat 2: Jeremy Flores (FRA), C.J. Hobgood (USA, Fredrick Patacchia (HAW)
Heat 3: Taj Burrow (AUS), Jadson Andre (BRA), Gabe Kling (USA)
Heat 4: Mick Fanning (AUS), Heitor Alves (BRA), Bobby Martinez (USA)
Heat 5: Jordy Smith (ZAF), Adam Melling (AUS), TBA
Heat 6: Kelly Slater (USA), Alejo Muniz (BRA), TBA
Heat 7: Adriano de Souza (BRA), Chris Davidson (AUS), Kai Otton (AUS)
Heat 8: Owen Wright (AUS), Matt Wilkinson (AUS), Josh Kerr (AUS)
Heat 9: Adrian Buchan (AUS), Kieren Perrow (AUS), Daniel Ross (AUS)
Heat 10: Damien Hobgood (USA), Julian Wilson (AUS), Taylor Knox (USA)
Heat 11: Michel Bourez (PYF), Patrick Gudauskas (USA), Dusty Payne (HAW)
Heat 12: Joel Parkinson (AUS), Brett Simpson (USA), Raoni Monteiro (BRA)

We're reimagining the Eyeball x Surfline experience with you in mind. - TRY SURFLINE BETA