Eyeball HQ

Trev's Blog

Second Consecutive Lay Day for Billabong Rio Pro

May 14, 2011

Carissa Moore (HAW), 18, current No. 1 on the ASP Women’s World Title Season, will surf against Courtney Conlogue (USA), 17, and Paige Hareb (NZL), 20, in Round 3 of the Billabong Rio Pro. ASP / CESTARI

BARRA DA TIJUCA, Rio de Janeiro/Brazil (Saturday, May 14, 2011) – A second consecutive lay-day has been called for the Billabong Rio Pro with stormy one-to-three foot (.5 metre) waves on offer at Barra Da Tijuca.

Stop No. 3 of 11 on the ASP Men’s World Title Season and 5 of 7 for the women, the Billabong Rio Pro kicked off action on Thursday with the start of women’s competition and saw the event’s top seeds lead the pack while hunting down this year’s elite Brazilian event title.

“The surf is still small and disorganized so we’re going to call the contest off for today,” Richie Porta, ASP International Head Judge said. “We’ll return tomorrow for a 7am call and will likely resume competition tomorrow.”

Kicking off Billabong Rio Pro Women’s Round 3 will be crowd favorite Silvana Lima (BRA), 26, ASP Women’s World Tour rookie Tyler Wright (AUS), 17, and Kauai native Alana Blanchard (HAW), 21.

When men’s competition begins, 2010 ASP Rookie of the year Owen Wright (AUS), 21, will surf against Heitor Alves (BRA), 29, and Bobby Martinez (USA), 28, in Heat 1.

Billabong Rio Pro organizers will reconvene at 7am local time tomorrow for a possible 7:30am start.

The Billabong Rio Pro men’s waiting period runs from May 11 through 22 while the women’s window is from May 12 through 16. To watch the event LIVE log on to http://www.billabongpro.com

We're reimagining the Eyeball x Surfline experience with you in mind. - TRY SURFLINE BETA